Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it positive or negative?

With the booming population around the world, more and more people are willing to live in the cities instead of staying in the countryside. Under such circumstances, many cities choose to build new residential areas on top of farmlands and parks to solve housing problems. Overall, I think this is a positive trend. First of all, one of the significant benefits that new houses bring is that they can improve people ’s living standards. Available new properties will provide city dwellers chances to live in a spacious and bright house, instead of a small apartment in a high-rise in the downtown area. Meanwhile, with fewer people crowded in the cities, the traffic problems can be relieved significantly. Moreover, this action can create more job opportunities in a long run. On the one hand, building new houses needs construction teams. More labours living and working in this area will result in the thriving of tertiary industries, such as restaurants, grocery stores and barber shops. On the other hand, after the construction is complete, local people and newcomers will move into the city, which means the city will have a strong workforce. This advantage will attract corporations and companies to come, and there go more position vacancies available in the job market. Admittedly, it is true that farmlands and parks are important. They provide local people with fresh food and entertainment. However, the government cannot solve all the problems at once. Baby steps are the best strategy. As long as the city developed and has sufficient funds, the government can deal with all the issues and problems that were created at the beginning one by one. In conclusion, it will be a good choice for cities to replace farmlands and parks, provide that cities can fix the problems which emerged in the process of construction at a later stage. In a long run, development is the key to opening the door to prosperity for cities.