Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples form you knowledge or experience.

In today's world, comprehensive franchise markets and shopping malls become more and more popular. Some people argue that the mass growth of large-scaled market places damages indigenous shops and local groups, and they have a lack of power for a competition with these huge companies. I completely agree with that opinion, and I will explain my view. Firstly, local areas consist of small scaled shops which employ local individuals, therefore, any local place is crucial for a neighbourhood because of its job opportunities for nearby communities. For example, according to the research published by Istanbul University in 2020, 83 traditional pita places are located in Konya run by close relatives. Moreover, the staff that these shops frequently contain family members of different generations, close friends, and people who bond with each other, furthermore, the current structure of these businesses are found supportive by their regular customers. Additionally, most of the huge shopping malls appear the same, and they have limited specialised purposes. Nevertheless, local craft shops and traditional farmer markets provide unique experiences. For instance, a Greek agriculture market in Alabama is the only place for traditional Greek delights. If there was not such a place like that, the Greek cuisine lovers in that area would not find the same productions. In addition to that, around more than half of the franchise shopping malls cause noise pollution in small cities like Nevsehir, and Nigde. To sum up, local places are emotional establishments for local areas. There is no doubt that they have dramatic importance for business and people.