In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It has been seen and proven through different studies that some people tend to try harder and expend more energy not only in academics but also in professional work environments. In the section underneath, this essay shall put forth ambition as the main driver as well as highlight the benefits of the discussed behaviour. Ambition is the main reason expressed by people when asked about why they put extra effort into what they do, going above and beyond than expected. There are several reasons that lead some individuals to work harder in order to achieve their personal goals, among which, looking for opportunities to reach a better and wealthy life than the one they had when growing up, can be highlighted. For instance, Elon Mask, the richest man in the world, has expressed in several interviews that two thousand dollars and a bag full of books was all he had when moved to the United States at the beginning of his career. Some people argue that working longer hours or devoting most of the time to study could be potentially harmful and lead to mental or health disorders. However, human beings' lives are driven by goals, projects, dreams, and working hard helps them to get closer to their goals, which gives their lives not only a sense of purpose and achievement but also feeds their self-esteem. According to a study run by the Australian Neuroscience journal, people that achieve their goals are 30% happier than people who do not. In conclusion, dedicating energy and passion encourage people to achieve their academic goals, or conquer their professional challenges. In short, working hard, is key to achieving success, which at the end makes everyone healthier and happier.