Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are crippled by gridlocked traffic. What are the possible solutions for these cities?

Commuting by means of private vehicles has boomed over the past three decades which result in intense traffic congestion in urban areas. This essay intends to provide some remedies to reduce this problem. One of the main solutions to minimize the traffic in cities is to increase the taxes on cars when they entering in cities which will automatically reduce the numbers since it would be more expensive to travel by car. It will lead to the use of public transportation by the masses so that they can save money. For example, In some foreign countries, taxes are already applied to use private transportation and there is less number of cars on the roads. In order to do that government should also improve the conditions of public transportation so that people would prefer to use them in comparison with personal transit. Another remedial measure could be taken by the government to decline this issue and that is to improve road infrastructures. In other words, the roads should be widened or there should be new underground roads where roads could not widen. In this way, there would be more space for vehicles to run down and consequently, traffic would be reduced. For instance, in developed nations such as America and Australia, traffic is controlled by making new underground pathways for transport. Thus, government investment is needed to tackle this issue. In conclusion, increased car ownership makes the urban areas cramped places which could be reduced by applying city entry charges on private means and improving road infrastructures by higher officials.