Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy for them.

While some people prefer to keep their children at a distance from pets because of health and safety reasons, others choose to do just the opposite. In this essay, I would like to argue that pets are actually good for the overall well-being of children for some obvious reasons. The first reason, of course, is that pets provide children with comfort and company, especially when nobody else is accompanying them. But, even when somebody is accompanying them, heir still feels a sense of comfort in the company of their treasure, mainly because those treasures are usually more “passive” and “loyal” than other humans. And that is exactly probably why, as some researchers have found, a very significant percentage of parents allow their youngsters to have pets. Pets also help young offspring with learning. In fact, we often can see offspring, who otherwise do not like to read, lying on their beds and reading to their dogs or cats and showing them pictures. The juniors even ask questions about their pets to see if they - the treasure, are actually paying enough attention to the readings. In other words, the little ones actually learn important and fun things in a pleasant environment while petting their cats and dogs. Besides, researchers have also monitored that the stress level of the kids goes significantly down when they are with their pets. Finally, some researchers have also found that having pets can reduce a child’s risk of developing certain common allergies. Such research showed that children, who had animals, had fewer positive skin tests for indoor allergens - like pet and dust-mite allergens, and also outdoor allergens such as ragweed and grass, compared to those juniors who did not live with pets.