Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to friends, family, and businesses. Is this a positive or negative development?

The development of the Internet and smartphones has revolutionized all aspects of our lives. One of these aspects is the way people handle their financial day-to-day activities like doing monetary transactions on their devices via the use of the Internet. While some consider this development harmful, I believe that it is worthwhile. The primary benefit of using smartphones in transferring money is the high speed. For instance, accounting departments in large corporates that have a plethora of activities pertaining to purchasing or money transfers could benefit from employing the Internet rather than having to go to a bank for each transaction. It is, therefore, huge merit and a major help in order to save time. Moreover, this development can play a significant role in each individual's life, regardless of their professional affiliation, due to the noticeable amount of time-saving. Although I do appreciate that some people are concerned regarding the security aspects, I believe that the advantages are more. Another benefit of this technological advancement is how it can help preserve our precious environment. In the past, each transaction demanded an itinerary to the bank or ATM machines, using a stack of paper for keeping records of the transaction (for the bank and each individual), and a higher number of facilities like bank branches to do so. courtesy to the Internet, these set of activities are obsolete, hence it helps the preservation of the environment by averting unnecessary traffic and paper use. In conclusion, I think utilizing our electronic devices and the Internet in transferring money is extremely beneficial, especially in terms of saving our time and preventing more damage to the environment. Moreover, technology is advancing by the minute, thus providing people with more secure transactions.