In most countries disabled people are not catered for adequately, e.g. buildings are often inappropriately designed. Governments rely too heavily on charities and voluntary organizations to provide assistance and funding. What further measures could be taken to assist disabled people?

So far, in most countries, disabled people have not been given enough support by governments. Therefore, charities and voluntary organizations are helping such people instead of the authorities in order to make their lives better. In this essay, I will attempt to provide possible treatments that governments could take. To begin with, the authority should set up revenue to assist people who have difficulties from a financial aspect. In fact, people are struggling to raise money for tools that make their lives smooth, such as a wheelchair, medical equipment, and among other things. To illustrate, a new wheelchair costs more than five thousand dollars. Moreover, unfortunately, the salaries of disabled people are less than the average. Consequently, they need more financial support, so the governments that are supposed to run for all citizens have to utilize several percent of revenue for struggling people. Secondly, the government should implement a law that obligates proper designs of buildings that are going to be built. The authority is the only organization that can put a law into effect. Due to buildings with inappropriate designs, their destinations are limited and they feel uncomfortable even if they visit such places. According to the survey that was conducted to get to know what handicapped people find difficult with, more than 90 percent of people need more helpful designs for each building. To conclude, governments need to take more actions to provide assistance and funding in order to let all citizens lead more comfortable lives even if they have handicaps.