In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The extreme high salaries are being earned by very few of the population in many nations. While many believe this is beneficial for the country, others feel that salaries should be capped. In my opinion, I believe income should be capped based on the industry in order to avoid making one industry more attractive than others due to the large gaps in salaries. On one hand, lots of people believe that it will benefit the country if a small percentage of the population are earning very high incomes. They believe this is evidence of hard-working and will encourage other citizens to follow the ethic if they want to belong to the group of high- income earners. In order words, this trend will help society to boast of people who have desires to succeed instead of being lazy. In Africa, for example, employees at oil companies earn more than many employees in other sectors. The reason is that employment in oil companies required high education results for entry levels and critical skills for experienced levels. Therefore, students who hope to earn high after study will strive to achieve high CGPAs in their studies and experienced-level applicants would be driven to pursue critical skills. However, on the other hand, many feel that income should be capped for industries. They believe this will give level playing fields in the job markets. In order words, citizens can choose to study, develop skills and work in their fields of interest. This will eliminate inequality in society, in terms of earning income. This will also benefit the government in the areas of skills development that is needed in every sector of the country. In Australia, for example, due to the very low gap in wages, lots of citizens have the confidence to choose any career path for a quality life. Those who did not attend higher education were able to pick cleaning jobs or labourer jobs due to good wages and if they complete many hours in a week or a month or a year, they are able to earn close to the salaries of professionals who attended universities. Opinion, I agree with the second view above that differences in income should be reduced. This will in the long term, eliminate the gap between the rich and the poor. That is, the larger percentage of society will have almost the same purchasing power in markets. In conclusion, wages should be implemented in a way that one sector will not be more favourable than others so that citizens can genuinely pursue their careers based on their skill levels.