Serious violent crimes among people who are under-18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Violent offences are increasingly prevalent among minors. Some individuals would argue that they should be punished and get the same treatment as grown-ups, while others believe that children need to be re-educated. I personally believe that rehabilitation is a better option for them because they’re not mature enough to be aware of their behaviour. On one hand, treating juvenile criminals like they are over 18 gives the victims justice. Moreover, someone who has lost a loved one would definitely find it unacceptable if the perpetrator was not sentenced to prison to receive the appropriate punishments. For example, the victim’s parents will have a difficult time when they see their son’s murderers released after losing their child because they’re not old enough to get the punishment for the crime. However, I believe that young violent criminals need someone to lead them to the right path, and instead of punishing them like adults, it is better to rehabilitate them before releasing them to society. On the other hand, the youngest who carry out acts with violence may not be aware of their actions and consequences that will result in death or injury because of their age, since they are not fully developed in both their physical and mental states. This is why in most places children who committed violent acts are rehabilitated in addition, minors usually feel regrettable about their crime and wish they could have an opportunity to return to their previous normal lives with their families. I believe that criminal’s ages should be taken into consideration and re-educated is the best solution for them for better life in the future. In conclusion, sending young criminals who have committed violent crimes to adult prison to receive a suitable punishment for their violent atrocities will give the victims some justice. I think this is not the best decision because they were not aware of their actions, and giving them a chance to guide them to the right way to make them model citizens again is a preferable option.