Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for trourists who visit such places?

Some people argue that travelling in places like Sahara deserts or Antarctic have lots of benefits such as learning to appreciate human development also, getting to know our planet and nature from different perspective. However, other people strongly believe that visits to such places can be dangerous and can have lethal outcomes if travelers are not well prepared and trained properly. It is certain, that getting out of comfort zone and going to places where conditions are not human friendly for living, could teach one to appreciate their current living conditions and not take human development for granted. Because majority of people live in the developed cities and never even think about famine, hunger, cold, heat, or being attacked by wild creatures. For example, researchers collected surveys from hundreds of travel agencies where these kinds of visits were organized. And were shocked that majority of clients mentioned that they are happy to be back to civilization and they are thankful that science and human development make people's lives much easier. On the other hand, there are lots of dangers that await travelers on this kind of trips. For example, it is a known fact that Sahara is full of wild species which could bite, poison or even attack people. Apart from that, there is weather condition that can make the overall experience pretty life endangering as well. And of course, Antarctic's cold freezing climate can contribute for frost bites and all sort of sicknesses if not prepared appropriately. For example, all the expeditions and trips to Antarctic always have a victim of a frost bite which certainly is not the best desired outcome from the travelling. In summary, there are numerous benefits of visiting such places, however, we always need to keep in mind that there are hidden dangers which could endanger our lives if we are not well trained and prepared for those travel activities.