Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides.

People have different perspectives on whether school should teach children to compete or work in groups as a team. Some people believe that it is better for children to learn to compete, while others think that cooperation and team working skills are of immense importance. To begin with, children who compete against each other often do well in their studies, according to some. In other words, competition not only boast children ’s confidence but also increase their eagerness to learn different things to out-perform their counterparts. In addition to it, it is rightly said by many that world is unfair and only those survive who know how to compete and overcome their limitation, therefore it makes it even more important. For example, a study conducted by the University of Sydney concluded that children who develop competition as their core skills often do well in their later professional life. On the other hand, children live in society where every individual to some extent rely on others for one way or another, hence cooperation is critical. In conclusion, some experts think that schools should focus on competition, while others believe that cooperation and working in teams should be given more preference.