A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Nowadays, countries that have natural wonders and provide various places of interest, benefit economically from being popular tourist destinations. However, the tourism industry can bring problems as well if it is not directed properly. But I believe that the advantages weigh more than the advantages. Firstly, the traveller trade would certainly contribute to the economy of the country. In other words, visitors tend to spend large amounts of money on accommodation, transportation, food, and souvenirs. As a result of this, a considerable number of developing countries’ success is attributed to tourism. For instance, Isfahan, a city in Iran with lots of historical monuments, artworks and handicrafts, takes advantage of the money visitors to spend in this city to get to know its historical heritage, and rich culture and enjoy Iranian traditional foods. Secondly, the tourist industry creates lots of job opportunities for local people who are not living in industrial areas. For example, over 173 million people are employed in the hotel & motel industry. On the other hand, there are problems associated with the large number of people visiting tourist destinations, one of them is the arising of environmental issues. As an industry prone to overconsumption, tourism consequently produces a substantial amount of waste and pollution. In some places, tourists produce up to twice as much waste as local residents and disposal of waste is a daunting task for local authorities. For example, it is estimated that 14% of all solid waste is produced by tourists each year. Moreover, the sightseers may damage ancient monuments that contribute to the transmission of culture. These monuments not only reflect the country's history,customs and values but also promote a sense of national identity. In conclusion, while there are significant advantages such as economic growth, there are also some drawbacks to having the tourist trade that should be taken into consideration and controlled by concerned authorities.