Fewer and fewer young people are politically active because they see politics as irrelevant. How far do you agree with this statement? How can younger people be encouraged to participate more in politics?

There has been a decline in the number of young people who are interested in governmental affairs, usually because they deem politics to be a waste of time. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this statement and provide some solutions. The youth, generally, refuse to participate in political matters as, they feel as if their voice and opinion is unheard. For instance, university fees have recently dramatically increased to $9,250, with many students having to take out loans in order to gain further education. Many of these pupils will be in debt for years to come just because they want to obtain a degree. Despite many protests occurring against such a notion, this action was still enforced. Furthermore, this leads to a heightened sense amongst the young that their reasoning is irrelevant and that their opinion does not matter. In order for the next generation to become more engaged in the political world, there needs to be more youthful representation. There should be a leader put in place that passes direct bills on any disputes younger people may have. For example, talks about university fees and housing prices increasing at a rate in which graduates cannot afford, should be discussed within parliament. When this generation see that any qualms they have are being debated and that they are finally being represented, they will automatically become more interested in politics. Additionally, politicians should make an active effort to visit institutions, like schools so that students can familiarise themselves with those who are in leadership positions. In conclusion, a large proportion of the youth are disinterested in governmental strategies as they are not included in them. An authoritative figure who is around their age must be elected in order to involve this age group.