More and more people in the city live in small space and without outdoor space. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

With the development of cities, there are many people that have to live on small roofs or basements without any gardens outside. I personally believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, this development benefits many households by offering living space at an affordable cost. House price in big cities is highly prohibitive, especially with outdoor space which is the main issue for many low-income workers. Therefore, it would be cheaper to live in a small one without any gardens or yards. Moreover, people living in these small accommodations do not need to spend much money on heating, cooling or furniture. As a result, it could help them to save a large amount of money. Turning to another hand, this trend brings a wide range of intensively detrimental because it has an adverse impact on people's health and individual lifestyle. Outdoor spaces such as the courtyard are ideal places for relaxation and exercise. After a hard day at work, for example, family members can have a barbecue or do exercise together in their backyard. However, without any of these spaces, they would be discouraged from doing such activities which could lead them to sedentary lifestyles. Besides, there would be no privacy if there is more than one individual in a mini home. For instance, it is very hard for someone to spend time alone and do what they like if there are still their parents and sons. In conclusion, in my opinion, living in a small house without outdoor space has both beneficial and detrimental effects.