In many countries fast food becomes part of life. It affects people’s lifestyle and diet as well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

The past half-century saw the rise of the fast food industry. This has now become a major part of the lives of many people. While fast food is easy to find and cheap, it affects people's lifestyles and diets in a negative way. I fully agree with the statement. Firstly, fast food has been growing in popularity in developed nations, such as the USA, Australia and most of Europe. Brands like Mcdonald,s and Burger Bing, for example, have become the first places people order from. This is due to the fact that they are in very convenient locations, have fast delivery, and are usually cheaper than healthy alternatives. Secondly, cooking has decreased in popularity, due to the fact it's very time-consuming and difficult. Furthermore, ingredients have become more expensive due to the current economical climate. Fast food has been proven to be detrimental to lifestyle and health. Studies have shown that fast food is one of the leading causes of; obesity, coronary artery disease, and hypertension, among others. This can be seen in the large increase in the incidence of said diseases in the developed world. Also, this food contains large amounts of salt, oil and carbohydrates. Moreover, Food cooked outside is more likely to contain preservatives and other carcinogenic chemicals. These increase the likelihood of cancer. Lastly, vitamins and other essential minerals are usually minimal in takeaway food and thus predisposing to many deficiencies and diseases. In conclusion, fast food has become a crucial part of life for many people, especially in the developed world. This has caused a negative effect on the diet, lifestyle, and health of people. For these reasons, I think the statement is true, and this can be seen in the increased occurrence of diseases in countries where fast food is common.