In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night until they are accompanied by an adult while others believe that teenagers should be given the freedom to move. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a divided view as to what time teenagers, these days, especially in some areas of the US, should be at their homes. Some people argue that they should be given freedom while others contend that they should be restricted to go out after a particular time or only be allowed to be in outdoors if they are accompanied by an adult. In this essay, we will discuss the argument and will give a logical opinion after careful consideration of both sides. First of all, imposing rules on the younger generations such as giving them a curfew or allowing them to be outside with an accompanying adult, will be beneficial for their safety and society. The reason for the rise in juvenile crimes is because of the lack of parental guidance and or adult supervision. Most adolescents are naturally curious in every way. They have tendencies to explore activities that could potentially harm them, although this may not happen every time. On the other hand, the right to freedom is most oftentimes abused as an excuse by these minors. In a recent survey conducted, it was found that more than 30 percent of these younger generations, ages 15-17, went on to drug addictions and alcoholism as a result of their nightlife activities such as clubbing and social gatherings. This is because these age groups claimed that they are entitled to their right to freedom. These could pose danger to their health and future. In conclusion, in my opinion, I am strongly in favour of disciplining these teenagers and setting time boundaries. It is imperative to have this rule as it is one of the major causes of the rise in teenagers' misbehaviour in society. Furthermore, giving them their right to freedom in late evenings will most probably lead to engaging themselves in addictions and alcoholism.