Some people believe it is essential to include physical education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children’s time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present age, public concern has arisen about whether physical education classes should be included in the curriculum for all students. Some people assert that it is essential to include physical education for children, whereas many others argue that child’s time is better spent on more academic subjects. The merits of physical classes are quite apparent. Since the old times an individual’s physical condition was one of the main priorities. A good example to express this point of view is the definition from the Renaissance era - “kalokogathia”, meaning that an exemplary person is the one with a proportion of a psychological and physical health. Not only does sport improve one’s strength and stamina, but also clears the head. This argument can be reasoned with the old saying “In the healthy body - healthy mind”. So consequently, there are a great deal of advantages for students to participate in education classes. However, some others may claim that children should better focus on academic subjects. The primary factor we need to take into consideration is that students nowadays are getting exhausted quite easily from the amount of school duties. There is no denying that a child is obligated to do well in all subjects creating a large amount of pressure. So, regarding this fact many people would assume that children should concentrate on the studies which will help them in future academic achievements, rather than on physical education. On the basis of the above discussion, I sincerely believe that physical classes should be included in a student's schedule, since it can help them clear their mind and help them concentrate more, nevertheless it shouldn’t get in the way of getting academic knowledge.