The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern eras, the presence of internet has been one of the facilitating factors assisting human life in many aspects, especially in work. Working from home is made possible thanks to it. In my opinion, the benefits that online working brings outweigh its disadvantages. To begin with, there are two crucial downsides of working from home consisting of the lack of reliable internet connection and an increased risk of health problems. In order to work productively at home, a strong and reliable internet network is required, whose connection may be unstable under certain circumstances, for example, bad weather or remote areas with weak internet response. Furthermore, sedentary jobs are detrimental to human health as they increase the risk of being overweight and back pain owing to lacking exercise and movement. Both these factors lead to work unproductivity and dissatisfaction. Thus, being unproductive and being exposed to health risks are noteworthy negative sides of working at home. Nevertheless, working online provides people with many other plus points like space flexibility, time and money savings as well as an incline in work productivity and satisfaction. Starting with the flexibility, people are able to determine their workspace, for instance, on the couch in the living room or at the dining table in the kitchen, where they find most comfortable and so perform the best. In addition, a large amount of money and time for commuting can be saved and spent on other purposes instead, such as physical exercise to improve health or learning new skills needed for work. These factors combined not only create a better work atmosphere and quality but also raise joy and reduce work stress. The more flexible and happier a person feels at work, the better their work result will be. In conclusion, people profit more from working at home than being harmed. Despite the requirement of a stable internet connection and being harmful to health, a person can be flexible while working from home, save money and time, as well as increase performance by being joyful and stress-free at work.