In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What do you think are the causes of this development and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In this essay, I will be considering how some teachers reward students who achieve outstanding academic results in comparison to teachers that reward those that display the most improvement. While I will consider both views, it is my opinion that most teachers focus on academic results rather than personal improvement within subject areas. To begin, I would like to draw attention to the importance of academic results: students attend schools and universities in order to achieve outstanding results and qualifications. Since this is of primary import, many educational establishments are pressured to ensure their students receive the best grades possible. This pressure often leads to a narrow vision in which educators are so engrossed with academic results that they sometimes lose sight of those that are demonstrating progress against those that are consistently receiving excellent results. In contrast, there are educators that prioritise development. For example, many teachers provide feedback - whether oral or written - in order to help students tackle their areas of growth. In doing so, they are aware of students ' strengths and weaknesses. When students make necessary adjustments and illustrate progress via their work, some teachers celebrate this through education-specific reward schemes and verbal praise. Despite this, I would argue that the majority of educators are overwhelmed by demands (often by their line managers) to achieve the best results; in a handful of schools, for example, teachers ' salaries are performance-based and they only progress upon receiving outstanding results. Therefore, it is difficult to draw binaries and argue that it is either one or the other; nevertheless, I would argue that, while some teachers are concerned with gradual improvements over time, as a matter of urgency and priority, most are primarily focused on students achieving academic success via results.