The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, with the advent of Information Technology the lifestyles of humans have changed over the years, due to this many people are addicted to internet-related applications, such as social media, accordingly the usage of social networking has been a substitute for face-to-face communication in society. In my,opinion the benefits of social media interaction outweigh its drawbacks. In this, essay I will discuss both situations. To begin with, social media applications are, for example, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and News applications. The main demerit of these apps is people lose communication skills with each other. In the, past people used to talk with each other face-to-face when they meet, but if family members or loved ones living far away they used to connect with each other through letters, where they express their ideas and emotions, and put up words. As a consequence of new technology, humans tend to lose their skills in communication. As an example, the younger generation, is unable to talk with each other and solve a problem or share ideas verbally because they are used to communicating through their mobile phones either by texting or calling. Even though there are some drawbacks to using social media, I believe that these apps have contributed to the world in numerous ways. Especially, when children need to talk with their parents, when they are in trouble at school or outside place. Despite these facts, Facebook, and Instagram have provided new paths to connect with new friends and learn about cultures, and also discuss your daily lifestyles with others in a protective way,, moreover these apps provide children as well as elders to get rid of depression. According to a survey conducted in Sri,Lanka 90% of Sri Lankans during the pandemic situation communicated with their friends and families through social media to get rid of stress. To sum up, initially there are serval negative points of social media such as children losing their communication skills, but these drawbacks are covered when the positive points of social media usage are discussed.