The development of modern technology in communication has benefited some people; however, others have had no benefits at all. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

On one hand, existing technology has positively influenced certain individuals; on the other hand, it might have been useless for other users. I absolutely disagree with the latter because technological advancement has been beneficial for every individual to a certain extent. So, the notions will be examined in the essay. First of all, contemporary devices and means of communication have helped to cope with difficulties when the pandemic hit. For example, it was forbidden to interact face to face in some regions such as Spain or China in 2020-2022 because of the lockdown. However, it has become possible to get in touch with relatives, friends and co-workers thanks to modern gadgets, mobile applications and social media. Thus, the example demonstrates that individuals have benefited a lot from contemporary means of communication and hence it would have created quite a few drawbacks if modern technology had not existed. In addition, even though technological progress has caused harm to some people such as addiction to modern devices and depression induced by excessive use of social media it still plays a vital role in the contemporary world. For instance, the research found that 90% of businesses are dependent on technological progress. To cite a specific example, companies of medium and small sectors have increased their revenue at least by 25% over the past decade thanks to tools of communication on the Internet such as Instagram and Facebook which is also beneficial for the economy and consumers themselves because their quality of life has been improved. In conclusion, although certain individuals might suppose that they have received no benefits from technological progress they might be mistaken. Needless to say, technological advancements have contributed to users’ level of quality of life. Hence, it would have been much more challenging to overcome such a period as Covid-19 without modern technology interaction-wise and economy-wise.