Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Advancement in technology has made people lazy. The gaming industry is one of the fast growing industries and they targets kids more as they spends majority of their time paying video games. This will result in less physical activities. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of computer games on kids. On one hand, parents who favour video games consider this as an effective tool for the kids to spend time. According to them, kids will enjoy their time inside the room rather than going outside for physical activities and then getting injured. It is generally seen that if both parents are working, then they favour kids playing video games as kids will manage themself inside the room. Some parents also argue that video games help kids to get familiar with computer. On the other hand, parents are not realising that their kids are becoming couch potatoes by spending most of their time in front of the computer. For instance, studies have proven that 80% of kids who have health issues such as obesity and vitamin deficiency are addicted to video games and they prefer to sit inside the room rather going outside and mingle with friends. Furthermore, there a many blood-shedding video games are available in the market such as PUBG which trigger the criminal behaviour in kids. Many incidents has reported that kids have conducted crime based on the encouragement from such video games. To summarise, it is a wrong trend that parents encourage kids to play video games rather than sending them to fields and playgrounds. This trend will adversely affect the health of a future generations. I suggest a balanced way of video game along with physical activities and parents need to put effort to make sure this.