Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Scientists have hypothesized that in the future, all individuals will willingly speak one common language. The consequences are unprecedented, but in my opinion, there are positive and negative aspects to be considered. On one hand, it could facilitate the growth of global business and economies, and on another, it could affect the cultural aspects of an originally non-speaker of that language. Having a global language would certainly facilitate negotiation among countries. Many companies would be able to expand their businesses to places that are currently not accessible due to language differences, like trading goods. Companies would not face regulations demanding product content to be displayed in different languages. Tourism would also increase without language barriers. It is not uncommon for individuals to be afraid of visiting places where they might be lost because they do not speak the local language. On a second glance, though, language is deeply associated with culture. Many teachings and local history could be lost if communities do not speak their original dialect, similar to many indigenous cultures that have been significantly changed after colonization. Another example of this is how the North American culture has deeply affected other cultures because of the dissipation of the English language. Many children and teenagers these days identify themselves more with North American culture instead of with their own. In summary, speaking only one language could benefit different business areas including trade and tourism. On the other hand, it could also mean a loss of cultural awareness and local history. Therefore, it is a path that should be trailed with caution.