Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the high sales of popular consumer products are due to the power of commercials and not to the substantial needs of them that live in where they are sold. I strongly believe that advertising reach this power owning to a reason. Commercials have great influence on persuading people to purchase their product for two reasons. First and foremost, they are more invasive than in the past. we are expose to massive commercials in our daily lives, such as billboards on the street and banner ads in the most of markets. Therefore, they can affect people’s mind unconsciously to feel they need advertised goods such as wireless headphones which are so popular these days. Furthermore, the know-how on advertising have progressed significantly. They have learned more tricks to combine with advertisements in order to be more influential on individuals. For instance, they are utilizing attractive jingles, appealing slogans to stick on individual’s mind. Consequently, customers will be engrossed with purchasing new items. From my perspective, the internet is a key contributor which aid advertising power to grow. These days approximately all people throughout the world have access to the internet and it has turned into a useful platform for ads. Advertising companies are sharing their adverts on the virtual world. Thus, we are faced with numerous popup ads. It means that, they have been more able to convince us to purchase their goods without real needs. For example, when we are surfing the internet and see ads which are shown delicious foods in a restaurant, we are pushing to go and eat that food. In conclusion, promoting in selling products is the result of the power in advertisements, and not the real needs of customers since they are found every where and new approach to be more effective are being taken. From my point of view, it has power because of the internet which tempt people to consume their services.