Some children spend a long time each day on their smartphones. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that nowadays juveniles are getting more indulged in mobile phones every day. This is because of their addiction to games. Although there are certain detrimental impacts of this, in my opinion, its constructive outcomes are more. Games help children to acquire cognitive skills and boost brainstorming in them. The following essay will discuss my viewpoint meticulously and provide a logical conclusion. The primary reason for the overusage overuse of smart devices is addiction. Owing to varieties of online games available, minors get influenced and end up spending the majority of their time playing them. Moreover, covid pandemic acted as a major contributing factor to this trend. Since parents were working from home during covid pandemic times, their offspring got the liberty to use their smart gadgets every moment. For instance, a recent report by the Times of India indicated that the usage of smartphones among children has raised sharply post covid the pandemic than in pre-pandemic times. There are plenty of benefits to use smartphones at a tender age. First and foremost, while sitting at home children can attend online classes under their guardian's supervision. Not only does it save commute time, but also expenses. Furthermore, this leisure time can be used to enrol on other courses and the benefits of the same can be reaped by children in their professional life later. In addition to this, if a child plays online games regularly, it helps to boost his cognitive skills. The reason behind this is that It requires a lot of brainstorming to reach higher levels of a game given its complexity. For instance, as per a recent survey conducted by New York Times, the IQ level of children who are players is significantly higher than that of others. To conclude, it is common for minors to use mobile phones because of their addiction towards games. Even though certain parents have issues with this trend, its constructive outcomes overpower them given to aforementioned reasons. However, parents should always keep an eye on their children to make sure they do not get access to inappropriate content on phone.