Some say that news has no connection with most people’s lives and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspapers and watch television news programs. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that news is no relevant to communities ' lives. There is no point in wasting time by reading news and watching television channels. I agree with this statement. Firstly, news is important to us. The purpose of reading news is to increase one' s general awareness on current issues. Secondly, news shapes our perceptions of the world. When we read a lot of negative news, world seems to be a negative place for the public. For example, cyber crime is on the rise nowadays, thus we take precautions when revealing our confidential and financial informations to the public. Moreover, news also shapes public opinion. For instance, India is an old country with a conservative way of living. Violence against women has never been reported because victims are afraid of social stigma. When newspapers reported any rape cases, this causes shame to the perpetrator but not victim. Consequently, today more and more women are coming forward to report sexual violence. In conclusion, news has a real connection to our lives. It can shapes our opinion, change our perception and essential for everyone's knowledge and awareness on latest issues that happened in the worldwide. In my opinion, there are many benefits one can gain by reading newspaper or watching news on television.