Some feel that individuals should try to assimilate completely to the country where they live while others feel it is more important to preserve their native culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s world, groups of people believe that each person has to focus and learn fully about their living place, however, others think it is more important to gain knowledge about your ethnicity and the place you came from. In my opinion, knowing about your past culture is more important than the country you are living in right now, and this essay discussed both views. On the one hand, the first group believes that when we live in a country and use its services in our life, our responsibility is to learn about that country's culture and history. Therefore, each person has to keep the priority to learn about their living place. For example, right now I am living in Canada for 2 years and from those people's, perspective I have to learn about Canadian history and culture. As a result, gaining knowledge of our living place should be the first option for residents. However, on the other hand, others think knowing about our ethnicity and native history is more important than the living place. Hence, individuals should first complete their research about their nationality’s culture and history. For instance, my cousin was born in Canada but she was always serious about learning about her background because she believed that it is more important to first improve your knowledge about your ethnicity and native culture. Which shows the importance of native history for these groups of people. In conclusion, on the one,hand they believe we have to complete our knowledge about our living, but on the contrary others think knowing about our past culture is more important and in my opinion is more closely related to the second group which is about native culture.