The increase in the amount of traffic is responsible for growing countries in many large cities and this has resulted in more traffic congestion particularly in rush hours. What changes could be taken to deal with this problem?

Many metropolitan cities of developing nations face huge traffic issues, especially in peak hours which further leads to more congested roads. To tackle this situation, Government should place traffic police and signals in those areas, charge huge fines to those who fail to abide by the rules, and also increase awareness among people on the alternate routes. One of the ways to avoid congestion is to place one or two officers during peak hours in order to maintain the situation. Secondly, placing traffic signals along with CCTV cameras at a gap of 5 kilometres on the main road so that people are bound to follow the rules. In case someone is breaking the law then huge fines should be imposed on him so that it is not repeated again. This helps in maintaining the law and order in the country. For example, many cities in India have stringent traffic rules and hefty fines are charged if anyone fails to abide by these. Another solution to this problem is that signboard with proper directions for alternate routes should be present on the main signals as a result of which everyone is aware of these and, hence, they can take a call accordingly to stay on the same route or to take another one. For instance, there are signboards present on all the main roads in Delhi for all the routes so that the driver is aware of these. In conclusion, traffic jams are the problem of many cities in developing countries which can be handled by the government with proper rules and regulations and by making the public aware of the other available routes.