Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays, illiteracy is considerable issue in the world, that can impact on children ’s future. There seem to be two main causes, and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause of illiteracy increased in countries, especially in villages, is lack of primary education facilities like proper schools and teachers. for example, in slum dog areas there are not school, and relevant educational institutions for children to educate. Furthermore, well-known cause can be growth of unemployed in societies which leads to reduction of income. It means that low income may have financial pressures on poor families’ children to give up education. Such as children labor in Tehran should work instead of going to schools, and pay charge of families, so their future will be destroyed. The effects of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, reduction of people social health can hurt particularly teenagers. Indeed, uneducated parents do not know how to provoke illness and children can be sacrificed of illiteracy and sick folk will not have chance to develop. For instance, countries like Zimbabwe seems people more suffer from HIV because they do not have knowledge about ways of spread of this virus. Moreover, widely-observed illiteracy impact on communication in societies. In fact, unlettered societies cannot have relevant relationship with modern and developed ones therefore, they remain isolated and undeveloped like Sumali. In conclusion, perhaps absence of education facilities, idleness and low income are major causes, and they affect both social health and social communications.