To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature.

The scarcity of food supplies has been one of the alarming issues in the world. Some people believe that using insects for food purposes would help to increase supplies due to their availability and cooking simplicity, while others are of the opinion that it would mostly bring negative consequences in the form of diseases and bird extinction. This essay will analyse the advantages and disadvantages of this. One of the striking benefits of consuming insects is their high abundance. Indeed, every country could be proud of its own variety of insects. If talking about food consumption, the number of insects significantly exceeds the human population which would allow people to balance out the decreasing supplies of food. Another positive aspect of edible insects is that they could be easily cooked. It is no secret that people prioritize their time spent on work over household activities such as cooking. Using insects would decrease the time for food preparation and it would allow people to focus on their work. One common example is an average man who can order food delivery or just miss lunch because he does not have time to stew the meat for hours. This could easily lead to the development of problems with digestion such as gastritis. Whilst insect preparation would encourage people to cook more at home and avoid getting sick. On the other hand, the drawbacks of edible insects may include not only the transmission of diseases but also the extinction of birds. Firstly and most importantly, because of the range of insects, it is difficult to determine the hazardous ones from the whole. Some insects might carry viruses or poison. Unless people are proficient at insect identification, they could come across poisonous scorpions or the like. Cooking these could end up in the unfortunate death of humans. Secondly, every creature of nature has its own place on the food chain. That is to say, humans as carnivores should consume meat, while insects are the nutrition of birds. Breaking the food chain and consuming insects may result in increased bird fatality. In conclusion, including insects in human food resources would bring positives, namely easy availability and simplicity in cooking. However, the controversial side would claim that along with diseases, insect consumption can bring about the death of birds.