Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increasing number of criminals has struck fear among nations. While some claim that enhancing the police workforce on the streets is the optimal way to cope with crimes, I strongly believe this is not the most efficient way, and there are better solutions to this phenomenon. On the one hand, it is understandable why citizens support the idea of having more police. To begin with, police officers, who are tasked with solving crimes, are well trained and often equipped with specialized equipment such as handcuffs or batons to confront lawbreakers readily. As a result, when a crime occurs, the police workforce can intervene promptly and prevent criminal behaviours from expanding. However, wrongdoers usually commit offences at night when the governing bodies are off-duty, leading to a higher possibility of crime success. Therefore, having more police in residential areas could not reduce the crime rate due to the contrary in working hours. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that other feasible approaches could be adopted to decrease the crime rate. Firstly, most wrongdoings have resulted from poverty, so the government should organize some campaigns to provide people with vocational training courses. When these individuals can financially support themselves, they will become law-abiding citizens and avoid committing crimes. Secondly, schools should also educate children from an early age to raise their awareness of crime prevention. This is because research conducted by Oxford University has indicated a correlation between proper education and a low level of criminality. In conclusion, although increasing the number of police is pragmatic, I vehemently hold that this is not the best solution. Besides, vocational training courses and proper education are better ways to deter offenders.