Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the popularity of computer games, parents think that they are almost useless and even dangerous for their children. In my opinion, being well balanced with other activities, they shouldn’t be damaging. To begin with, most of games require us to think about different approaches to pass the level or to obtain the required scores. Furthermore, modern game consoles include a huge variety of sensors, which in turn allow the creation of game mechanics based on tracking physical activities. For example, there are relatively simple games like Sokoban, or more complex ones like The Legend of Zelda, which require lots of effort and thinking to find a solution. Also, games like Mario Tennis or Just Dance require improving reflexes and burn plenty of calories. I assume this may help with developing creative thinking as well as maintaining a good physical state. On the other hand, there are researches which say that spending a lot of time on gaming may lead to game addiction. Which in turn, may give a strict negative impact on children's educational capabilities and their mental and physical health. MMORPG and Online Gambling applications such as online casinos and betting are the most notorious reasons for addictive behaviour. Therefore, limiting the time spent on gaming is required as well as awareness of risks which different genres of games may have. To conclude, I believe computer games with a well-balanced lifestyle could lead to better educational outcomes. However, we should take into account the risks of obtaining game addictions and related health issues.