Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay any tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are unwilling to pay taxes as they consider tax as a burden, which would reduce their disposable income. I believe that levying taxes is essential, because without tax revenue, a country is not able to function well. The government could invest tax revenue in public services and facilities in order to serve the public and develop a country better. For instance, a great public transport system enables commuters to travel to and from work more efficiently, avoiding traffic jams and accidents, which are unnecessary to happen. In addition, the authority is able to spend money on building more schools, which encourages more students from deprived backgrounds to attend school, improving literacy. Furthermore, some public services, including health care and housing, are also attributed to the responsibility of the government. The authority subsidizes the poor who do not get the medical treatment they need because of their inability to pay medical bills, and who do not have enough money to rent a flat, which would be solved by the government, such as providing them with low-cost housing. However, all of them regardless of public services and facilities could not be funded by the private sector, because the aim of it is to make high profits not to do charity. Hence, tax revenue is indispensable for the government to keep a society running. On the other hand, if taxpayers pay high tax, they are reluctant to earn more money, especially high-income groups, and some merchants are also unwilling to set up business. The result of it is that this would undermine the economy of a country, whose growth may be stagnant eventually. Therefore, the government needs to collect proper tax in order not to curb the economic growth. In conclusion, it is necessary for the government to charge tax to make a country function well, although levying high taxes appears to inhibit social progress.