Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on societies and so must be banned. Other people; however, say that they are just harmful and help people to relax. Discuss both these points of view and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals urging governments to prohibit violent computer games, television programmes and movies by legislation; whilst some people contend that these entertaining activities could relieve stress in humans. Unsurprisingly, the debate has become rife in society. To begin with, it is axiomatic that violent scenes would incite violence among young people. For instance, the University of Hong Kong conducted a research in 2012 concerning how TV shows influenced the behaviour of children aged 5 to 11 who were vulnerable to the environment. In this research, scientists concluded that the young children became more aggressive after playing games which consisted of fighting and robbery scenes because children at their age were incapable to distinguish the virtual world and reality. Resultantly, plenty of parents maintain that governments ought to be accountable for regulating the distribution of brutal games and films. In stark contrast, numerous inhabitants hold the belief that software and TV programmes are merely produced for entertainment, hence, shall not be deemed as a media of encouraging violent acts. In this sense, it is indisputable that people in modern times have a great deal of pressure from study, work and family, therefore, these games and films could alleviate their stress levels. To illustrate, a reporter from a renowned newspaper interviewed over 120 citizens of the US, and he found that computer games play a pivotal role in assisting game players to relax. It is because when people are devoting their time to gaming, they are inclined to forget work-related issues. In conclusion, violence might be seen as an indispensable element in games or shows in our times. Notwithstanding the fact that scenes which contain violence could put youngsters in jeopardy, adults ought to understand that games and movies are immensely paramount for young people to ease their tension. From my perspective, I strongly disagree if governments impose prohibitions on violence-related games and movies.