Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Despite of emerging opportunities for job in metropolitan areas, many find it comforting to live nearby their hometown for several reasons. It has its own merits and demerits which will be discussed further. The foremost reason of residing nearby the birth town is the support people receive from their relatives. This also results in creating strong family ties over a period of time. Besides this, many overtake their family business and then could not just leave because of commitment. Also, some feel complacent with their current lifestyle and growth. Such people are too scared to explore themselves in new city. Sometimes people find it beneficial to settle nearby the town of their birth as they know their neighborhood as well as neighbors personally over years, so if during any financial crisis, people are ready to help out each other. Secondly, it becomes easy to establish a business in such environment where people are very well aware of your goodwill. However, the negative impacts cannot be ignored. Not exploring options available sometimes limits your potential to some extent. For instance, a good athlete if does not get the opportunity to compete with players of other state or city, would they be able to enhance their career? Apart from this, one does not get a well-rounded exposure the latest practices prevalent in current market. Therefore, your knowledge gets outdated over a period. In conclusion, people have their own reasons for living close to their birth town which has its own consequences. However, if one wants to stay close to their family, todays modern technology helps you in that without sacrificing your dreams of moving to another city.