It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has a negative effect on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that the government should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to monitor their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

High levels of sugar commonly known may lead to diabetes mellitus disease. Due to this statement, it is widely supported that excess sugar has a negative effect on people's health. Some people think it is the government's responsibility to ensure the number of sugar people devours while another group of people believes maintaining a healthy amount of sugar being consumed is solely the individual's responsibility. Firstly, the consumable amount of sugar should be controlledcontrol by the government. To strictly carry out this plan, Food and Consumables department will have to counter-check the sugar content in all types of food, no doubt it will be a lengthy procedure but it will have an effect on people. For example, the authority can suggest the recipe of types of cookies and advice a favourable amount of sugar into it. Besides that, the government can control the amount of sugar being purchased by the people. For instance, during movement control order when our country has a shortage of sugar supplies, the government strong restrict the number of packets of sugar that can be purchased per household. In addition, the authority can organise a number of talks which are advised a balanced diet and strongly stress a favourable amount of sugar that can be consumed to be healthy. On the other hand, individuals should be responsible for one's self diet and health. Maintaining a safe amount of consumable sugar shall be controlled by the individual self. Individuals must have a strong will to reduce sugar intake every day including during festive seasons when the stalls are flooding with numerous amounts of sugary snacks. It is easier when individuals look after their own self sugar intake rather than depending on the government. Due to source constraints, the government will not able to assess the sugar intake of individuals strictly. Furthermore, being inspired by the leadership role and information given by the government, people will easily control their sugar intake from daily consumption. For example, the government ordered that from next year onwards, all meals shall be provided with the sugar level and calories present in the meal, so that people will be aware of the sugar quantity in the food. To sum up, I personally agree that control the amount of sugar intake should be the responsibility of individuals rather than the government. Individuals should be responsible for their own's health.