Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is true that music has become a universal language across the world influencing many people from old to the young. Music industry produces a wide variety of songs each year, but the question of whether music has either positive or negative impact on youth is up for debate. To begin with, current hits cover such topics as violence, terrorism, racism and different political issues and in many cases, they use explicit language to deliver their messages to the public. For instance, rock and rap music are full of rude expressions and foul language. As a result, this kind of music is really harmful for youngsters because the psychological state of their minds is easily influenced and may look at these musical artists as role model, trying to imitate their inappropriate style of conversation. Consequently, this type of music covers heavy issues and proves to have a poor influence on the youngsters. On the other hand, some critics claim that modern melodies are more catchy and better sounding than the tunes made by the previous generation of artists. Nowadays, thank to internet, youth can listen to any type of music, from all around the world. Recent research has proven that more than 73% of adolescents managed to socialize easier with their peers thanks to music. It goes without saying that being the fans of the same group unite people, they feel like they belong to a larger community. In conclusion, personally, I believe that modern songs have more of a negative effect rather than a positive one. Albeit it can be changed, provided that it doesn’t use explicit lyrics and start covering lighter topics to make people more positive rather than depressed and anxious. Originally music was invented to make our life more joyful, not sadder.