Write about the following topic: Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently, while others consider that they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people are in favour of hiring individuals that can play solo roles at work and still have a great performance. However, others insist on taking on professionals that can not only be instructed but also work with their peers as a team. In my opinion, people working together and collaborating with each other seems to be the best way to achieve higher levels of efficiency in a workplace. On the one hand, it is fair to say that innovative workers have higher chances of achieving productivity faster than other professionals. For instance, when employees focus individually on a given task, they have no distractions from their peers that could step in their way to resolving it. However, this type of work tends to be quite lonely and sad and thus, individuals often end up losing incentives and quitting their jobs. Research has shown that, in most cases, people want to socialize while they are working. On the other hand, it has been shown that teamwork often leads to a more pleasant work environment and happier employees. For example, these days, more and more young professionals are selecting which jobs to apply for according to the advertised job conditions. So, in order to ensure that employees will stick around and perform well enough, managers and business owners have to create social teamwork structures, so that people will feel welcomed and valued. To conclude, despite the fact that the rise in individualism at work has shown great results in terms of efficiency, I believe working in teams is far more rewarding. In general, workers tend to seek enjoyable workplaces and friendly colleagues, as they spend most of their time at work.