Some experts believe that it is better for children to beign learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Some specialists assert that children should start to learn a foreign language as young as possible. Although there are a number of drawbacks involved in this notion, the benefits accruing to this are by no means negligible. To begin with, the most persuasive reason is that children have a far better ability to learn when they are young compared to later. That is to say, younger children are able to retain what they are taught. Furthermore, language skills are built over years and require a lot of practice. That is, children can get accustomed to a new language if it is introduced in primary school as they grow. On the other hand, there are some downsides too. The main disadvantage of learning an additional language in primary school is that it is an additional burden for the students. Young children should have plenty of time to play and if they are taught many subjects, it can be stressful for them. Moreover, learning a second language in early age may result in the child confusing. Therefore, they may not have an as good performance in their home language as other children. To sum up, there are certainly some downsides to learning an additional language in primary school. However, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks because being bilingual or multilingual is important for their future.