Nowadays there are more opportunities for women than there were in the past. Some people think this situation has caused more problems than it has solved. What are your opinions on this?

In this essay, I will briefly discuss how there are more opportunities for women than there were in the past. Outlining some of these instances, I will draw out opinions on this shift over time. Ultimately, this paper will demonstrate how this change is largely a positive one that should be celebrated rather than viewed in a negative light. In the past, women were mostly allocated household tasks, such as cleaning, cooking and looking after their children. However, over the last century, there has been a shift in this antiquated role for myriad reasons, one of which includes men being occupied at the front lines during wartime. In recent decades, women have taken on occupations and activities that were previously limited to them: for example, they now work as lawyers, scientists, and university professors. Nevertheless, not all view this as a welcome change. Many fear that laborious tasks, including farming and professional sports, are best left to men; this is due to the antiquated notion that women are weak and should not over-exert themselves. That said, a range of research clearly illustrates that this notion of physical superiority is false as exemplified by female bodybuilders and exceptionally talented netball players. Moreover, another reason behind this is due to semiotics. Literature and media have portrayed women in a particular way since time immemorial: completing household tasks, being unable to understand the complexities of mathematical equations, and only being concerned with cosmetics. This has led to a sterotypical image which is disparaging but also limiting. Fortunately, people are shifting their views and beginning to realise not to view biased information, namely newspapers and magazines, as fact. These days, equal opportunities is at the forefront of occupations and there is more awareness of the gender gap. In conclusion, this response highlights the plethora of benefits associated with women receiving more opportunities. This has had a huge impact worldwide and has helped resolve gender disparity rather than caused further issues.