Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress? of diGive reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Many people believe that classic buildings from decades ago should be torn down to rebuild modern ones in the same space just to reinvigorate the mood in favor of modernization. In my opinion, historic buildings should be protected. To keep history alive, the government needs to create strong rules and communicate to the population that all memories are protected for many years to come. For example, the main building located in the middle of the city of São Paulo was built by slaves, centuries ago, and tearing it down is the same as killing our past. I support the idea that old buildings receive investment for renovation at least once every two years, keeping them protected and never demolished. In addition, some countries in Europe should set an example for the whole world. For example, Paris, the capital of France, is a center of historic tourism and throughout the year many tourists visit its museum, art gallery and Eiffel Tower. However, any place would be the same without buildings that were built over the century. In fact, these buildings are ubiquitous and can be found anywhere in the city and curiously most of them bring a vital memory of who was responsible for creating what we now call history. An interesting idea would be for the Minister of Infrastructure and Culture to do a benchmarking to find out more about how they can use this example in favor of their countries. In conclusion, old buildings must be listed by the authorities and considered heritage of humanity, so that all over the world great stories are never murdered by humans, and private interests are banished from society.