We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Nowadays, people have become more inseparable from advertising, which has led to a gigantic impact on our lives. On the one hand, there is a fair point that the detrimental effects outweigh the positive outcomes of advertising. Firstly, advertising manipulates people in a way that persuades them to believe buying a product will make them happier, and that life will be better with those kinds of stuff. However, buying too many things could make one's financial circumstances worse, and people might even end up going bankrupt. Secondly, advertisers often aim their marketing at children, and children can easily be influenced by advertisements. For example, if snacks like chips, cakes, and sugar cereals are marketed, youngsters tend to crave these foods, which according to the American Heart Association’s report, have a detrimental impact on their health by causing heart disease. Thus, advertising aimed at children should be supervised by the government. On the other hand, advertising is an essential part of modern business. Companies need to tell customers about their products to make money; and with so many choices in the market, advertisements can serve to inform us about what options we have, so there is no need for us to search for each product’s information, saving us quite a lot of time. Moreover, advertising is a form of art and has magical power. It can instil happiness in society, and some people really enjoy watching creative and touching campaigns. To conclude, while advertising certainly has some detrimental effects, I wholeheartedly believe that the positive outcomes of advertising outweigh all other negative consequences.