Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. however, a more effective solution is to provide the public with a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is considered by some individuals that putting people behind the bars in prisons is the best method to tackle criminal activities. In my opinion, I believe that educating the citizens is more efficient because education provides people with adequate information and also helps their choices. To begin with, education serves as a bedrock by which people can get knowledge about anything. By this I mean, when the members of society are educated appropriately on the rules, norms and requirements to keep their community safe, it becomes easier for everyone to know what to do. For example, when drivers are informed about the speed limits on different roads, it becomes easier for them not to err because they are aware of the rules. Educating citizens therefore serves as a tool to provide adequate knowledge which will reduce crimes. Another factor to consider is that, educating the public helps them to make choices in their daily lives. In other words, when people have information about actions and the attaining consequences, they find decision-making easier. This usually makes people to choose good instead of evil because they know all the effects of their actions. For instance, if a child knows stealing is an offence and he would be sentenced for it, the child would most likely choose not to steal. Impacting members of the community with knowledge will assist them in decision-making. In conclusion, while some individuals believe incarcerating people is an effective method to combat crimes in our society, I think educating people is a more efficient way because it gives everyone the knowledge base required to make choices.