Some people think that reducing income inequality is critical to ensuring a happier society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although some people might think that reducing income inequality leads to a happier society, I believe that not only it doesn't increase people's satisfaction with life but quite the opposite, it decreases people's satisfaction. Throughout history, we've seen many examples of a socialism type of economies that incerasing increasingly income equality doesn't help people grow. It can result in lower rates of competition in companies and a disfunctional economy. Moving toward income equality between different professions in society, eliminates people's motivation toward important and well paid jobs and after a generation or two, we would see people satisfied with what may come in their ways, and this kind of psychology affects work spaces as well, it will decrease their motivation to compete for producing better quality products or a better quality services to customers. One of the main benefits of a capitalistic economical system was helping gears of economy to run at a faster pace, boost people's income and also motivate companies to compete for customer increase by providing better goods. so for that reason, reducing income inequality will make societies to step into the realm of socialism economical system, and as a result of that matter, hinders economical pace and force it to break in a long run. To sum up, even though trying to minimize the gap between people's income can be a good thing, but trying to decrease it can result in people's dissatisfaction with life.