Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others argue that the circumstances of an individual’s crimes and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views, give your opinions.

People are divided into two groups when it comes to the punishing frame for offenders. While many people believe that there should be different fixed punishments depending on each type of crime, others argue that it is necessary to take into account the background and motive for the crime before giving the final sentences. In my opinion, I side with the statement that fixed punishment for individual crimes is the most suitable and efficient rule. The essay will analyze both sides of this view before clarifying the conclusion. On the one hand, personal circumstances and motivation for crime are considered as adding elements when deciding punishment. For example, in a scandalous Chinese family assault case in which the husband, Li Fan, constantly hit his wife to death, escaped the punishment due to his psychological certification leading to his uncontrollable behaviours, according to Chinese law. This means that both external and internal factors have certain effects on a trial’s final decision. Despite the fact that the crime ’s background and motive can help bring justice to legitimate cases, this may lead to the propensity to use special circumstances as a shield to reduce the punishment. Thus, this makes it hard to support. On the other hand, it is argued that fixed punishment is crucial depending on the various kinds of crime. For instance, Vietnamese criminal law clarifies that minor crimes, such as shoplifting or pickpocketing, are sent to prison, while serious crimes, such as murder or drug trading, are sent for life, or even receive the death penalty. This not only gives people who commit minor crimes a second chance to habilitate and reintegrate into society but also avoids serious crime from creating a criminal culture, particularly among the young. It can be seen that it is essential to establish punishment for detailed offences. In conclusion, although many think that considering motivation for committing a crime and other factors is needed for a final decision, I strongly believe that fixed punishments are better measures to maintain social security.