The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A rapid increase in the number of vehicles has been observed in the UK, reaching 29 million by 2000. This essay agrees that the use of public transportation and the regulation in restricting a number of car ownership should be encouraged. An efficient public transport system will incentivize people to shift from driving their own car. It is very straightforward that, if this trend continues, congestion in most major downtown will be significantly reduced. In addition, initiatives taken to improve the system will also efficiently connect more places, reducing the total amount of travel time For example, many capital in Asia, such as Hong Kong, Singapore, and Tokyo, have been developing an advanced transportation systems, in the form of buses, MRTs, and LRTs. They connect residential areas, business centres, and shopping malls in an efficient manner. The government should regulate in restrict private automobile ownership, especially in the major metropolitan. This will incentivize citizen to shift their mode of transit. However, some people in rural areas might find it difficult to implement this as more extreme roads are more frequently observed. In this regard, the government could impose the regulation more proportionately while taking into account obstacles in less developed areas. Finally, this essay supports that the improvement of public transport should be a priority due to its efficiency in reducing traffic jams and making travel time less stressful. Proportionate regulation on the restriction of ride ownership is also crucial in reducing the number of vehicles in England's major roads.