In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Globally, the healthcare sector has been improving significantly; as a result, people ’s life expectancy is longer than in the past. Some people argue that longer life expectancy negatively affects the government system, while others believe that the eldery people contribute to society effectively. Senior citizens have great wisdom, which helps the younger generation to improve their knowledge; However, to look after the elderly, governments need a lot of money to maintain the healthcare sector. In spite of these drawbacks, this essay will argue that the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, if people live a long time, they have great knowledge and wisdom, which helps to improve the younger generation’s knowledge, which will definitely be helpful in improving society. Moreover, grandparents can look after their grandchildren so that parents can focus on their employment and do not have to pay daycare fees. For example, research was conducted by Japanese scientists, who proved that if children grow up with their grandparents rather than day care, childrens’ brains will improve quickly. Nevertheless, although governments have many sectors, they spend the highest amount of money on the healthcare sector because the ageing society use goverment’s hospitals for their medicine more than in the past. Consequently, governments can face several economic problems, such as they do not have money to pay salaries for their employees. For instance, the Sri Lankan government offers free healthcare services for older people, who do not have the money to buy their medicine. The World Bank released the new report, which showed that the main reason for the Sri Lankan economic crisis is free healthcare. In conclusion, although eldery can affect countries’ GDP negatively, they definitely help society and their family. Therefore, there are many benefits to the longer life span, and they outweigh the drawbacks.