Too much money is spent on maintaining and repairing old buildings. Some people think that they should be knocked down to give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is apparent that preserving and renovating ancient buildings cost extremely expensive. Some people reckon that these should be dismantled and rebuilt to be more modern styles, while others argue that these should be maintained and kept. This essay will examine the reasons to support the latter view and to show my disagreement with the statement. First of all, these beautiful ancient buildings are tourist attractions, which are able to promote national tourism and generate a huge amount of income for the nation because historical landmarks have unique and fascinating appearances to attract a plethora of foreign visitors across the world. For example, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, is well-known as a must-go destination in Europe as the city consists of many old churches, houses, bridges, and other premises that reflect the tradition, culture, and history of the nation. Therefore, every year, a million tourists come to visit Amsterdam, and the residents can generate money by opening restaurants, cafes, bars, rental services, souvenir shops, and many more. Secondly, these ancient buildings are the best places to learn about history and background apart from museums for the new generations. As many properties that are preserved are important for the nation, some of them are the world's cultural heritages, visiting these places is the better way to encourage students to learn more about the history of the countries than reading books or studying in classes. For instance, all students who sail a boat on the canal in Amsterdam, are more excited and can learn some of the histories indirectly when they see the impressive views with the audio telling the informative story about the old premises beside the canal. Hence, these old landmarks should be maintained for outdoor education. In conclusion, it has been debatable whether these ancient heritages should be destroyed or maintained. In my opinion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I absolutely disagree with the view to demolish and rebuild them into new ones.