One of the major issues facing the world today is overpopulation. What problems arise from this situation? What measures can be taken to deal with it?

There is no doubt that the massive increase in the global population has created a crisis. Finding the right policies to deal with this is a major issue for governments worldwide. This essay will discuss the problems caused by overpopulation and suggest some measures that might be taken to help deal with this complex matter. The consequences of overpopulation are numerous. Perhaps the most significant effect is the increased rate that the human race is consuming the earth's resources like oil and coal. Indeed, some experts predict that the fossil fuel supply will be exhausted within the next 50 years, which would have enormous ramifications for all sectors. Another negative effect of overpopulation is that some countries suffer from insufficient agriculture to feed their citizens. Without more efficient farming techniques, famine could threaten many lives in areas such as East Africa where populations are booming. Clearly, the situation is dire.  To combat this, governments need to take action. One option is to increase investment in research into alternative energies, which would ensure that scientists are able to study and experiment. In terms of food shortages, greater international cooperation could be encouraged. Countries with a food surplus, for instance, could donate what they do not need to less fortunate nations, while expertise too should be shared globally to help improve crop yields and farming practices. Ultimately, in order to manage the pressures of a growing population, nations need to work together.   In conclusion, population growth is inevitable. While it may be possible to find ways to prevent famine and replace fossil fuels, greater investment from governments and more cooperation between global leaders is essential