Some people believe that to reduce the amount of time people spend commuting (travelling to work), parks and gardens close to city centres should be replaced by apartment buildings for commuters to live in. However, others disagree with this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a debate among people who think it is beneficial for us to destroy parks and gardens and build accomodations accommodation for workers who commute to city centres and those who against this idea. While this approach gives more flexibility for time and money to a limited number of city commuters, overall, I believe the idea does not improve total satisfaction of the people belonging to the society. First of all, it is obvious that if we built mass flats for men and women working in the urban areas where currently public open spaces exist, for those limited number of people who can get into the housing, it would become extremely convenient. For instance, they can commute to work with less time and cost and that would become a significant advantage for them. However, the number of people who are lucky enough to enjoy the merits are limited. Thus, those who cannot live in the rooms in the centre of metropolitan areas need to continue traveling everyday. Clearly, the total elevation of quality of life is not huge. On the contrary, by destroying public relaxation places such as parks and gardens will significantly downgrade the environment of the city as a whole. For example, trees and ponds will be replaced by flat buildings and people lose places for walks and play grounds where they can enjoy holidays. In addition, the landscape of the urban area would become less attractive and the value of the place may be decreased and it would even impact the price of the lands near by. Admittedly there are some pros and cons to the both side of the arguments, however, as a conclusion from above observations, I believe this idea of replacing public leasure lands to accomodations for city workers is overall not wise, considering the significant drawbacks it may cause to the entire people living in the area.